Thursday, April 5, 2012

The Pink Moon of April rises tomorrow

"The moon, like a flower
In heaven's high bower,
With silent delight
Sits and smiles on the night."

William Blake

I often include lunar lore in my fantasy writing. While we know much from the science of astrology, a lot is still unexplained and the legends remain compelling.

The Pink Moon in April acknowledges the first early blooms of spring. This name came from the herb moss pink, or wild ground phlox, which is one of the earliest widespread flowers of the spring. 
Other names for this month’s celestial body include the Full Sprouting Grass Moon, the Egg Moon, and among coastal tribes the Full Fish Moon, because this was the time that the shad swam upstream to spawn. Having lived in Perrysburg, OH for many years, I well know that the annual walleye run is a big event for fishermen. During April, adult walleye travel from Lake Erie into the mouth of the Maumee River.              
The exact time of the next full moon is:
Friday * 6th April 2012 * 09:18:42 pm
Central European Summer Time (CEST)
Moon sign: Libra 17° 23'

Here you find this time converted into different timezones for other cities:
SYDNEY = Saturday * 7th April 2012 * 05:18:42 am (AEST)
TOKYO = Saturday * 7th April 2012 * 04:18:42 am (JST)
BEIJING = Saturday * 7th April 2012 * 03:18:42 am (CST)
DELHI = Saturday * 7th April 2012 * 12:48:42 am (IST)
MOSCOW = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 11:18:42 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 09:18:42 pm (CEST)
LONDON = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 08:18:42 pm (BST)
RIO = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 04:18:42 pm (BRT)
NEW YORK = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 03:18:42 pm (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 02:18:42 pm (CDT)
LOS ANGELES = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 12:18:42 pm (PDT)
HONOLULU = Friday * 6th April 2012 * 09:18:42 am (HAST)
Photo credit (top): Moon Flower by rustymermaid
~ ~ ~
Marsha A. Moore is a writer of fantasy romance. The magic of art and nature spark life into her writing. The first of her epic fantasy romance series, ENCHANTED BOOKSTORE LEGENDS, is now available--SEEKING A SCRIBE. She has also authored the Ciel's Legacy series, fantasy romance with fast action mermaid/pirate storylines: TEARS ON A TRANQUIL LAKE and TORTUGA TREASURE.  For a FREE ebook download, read her historic fantasy, LE CIRQUE DE MAGIE, available at Amazon and Smashwords.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...